118 Cotton Street
West Monroe, LA 71291
Phone 318.397.6717

In 1986 the Arts Council began recognizing local businesses for their support of the arts in Region 8 with the Business ART (BART) Award. In 1989 the Arts Council added the Volunteer of the Year Award. Additional categories have been added through the years with the current categories of the BART Award, the Volunteer of the Year Award, an Artist of the Year Award for both Visual Arts and Performing Arts, and the Emerging Artist of the Year Award. The newest addition in 2022 is Arts Educator of the Year.

Nominees are submitted by individuals and organizations throughout Region 8. Winners are selected by panelists from outside of Region 8. Periodically, the Arts Council Board of Directors selects an outstanding individual or organization who they feel has performed long term service of such value that it has had a dynamic impact on the cultural face of Region 8. This award, given on an irregular basis, is named after long time local arts lover and advocate Mary Lee Milam.

And The 2022 Nominees Are...


BART Award

Edmund Williamson Artist of the Year - Performing

Volunteer of the Year

  • Kristopher Kelley
  • Louisiana Delta Ballet Wardrobe Team
  • Morgan Crawford

Region 8 Arts Educator of the Year

  • Bethany Wilkins
  • Cyndi Beaubouef
  • Emily Ezell
  • Jarrod Richey
  • Katelyn Vaughan
  • Laura Arrington
  • Lea Sheppard
  • Lissy Compton
  • Roxanne Santos

Our Partners

Supported in part by a grant from the Louisiana Division of the Arts, Office of Cultural Development, Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, in cooperation with the Louisiana State Arts Council and the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. Additional support provided by the City of Monroe and the City of West Monroe.

118 Cotton Street
West Monroe, LA 71291
Phone 318.397.6717

© Northeast Louisiana Arts Council 2023

Crafted by Firespring